Vedic Astrology Course

Thridhosha - Vatha, Pittha & Kapha

Like Mahabhutha, Indian culture and Ayurvedha follow Thridhosha theory. Dosha means fault. In all, there are three Dosha and they are Vatha, Pittha and Kapha or wind, bile and phlegm. The balance between Dhosha maintains good health while imbalance creates illness.

When any of the Dhosha is intensified in a particular region of the body, it creates disease. Every constitution is of a particular type and signifies certain physical and mental characteristics. Let’s understand these characteristics.

Vatha or Windy Temperament

The person with Vatha will speak much, walk fast and

be fond of travelling. He will be competitive but may know music. He will be brave and not so lucky. He will be good at making friends and will have a lean body. He will have rough hair; crooked hands and legs, extreme tempered and will have pale skin.

Pittha or Bilious Temperament

A person with a bilious temperament will have a bad odour on the body. He will be confident, intelligent and will become happy due for simple reasons. He will have large transparent nails, large eyes, hands and feet. The person will look older soon. He will have a good memory; will have a fighting spirit, fearless and fond of cold dishes. 

Kapha or Phlegmatic Temperament

A person with a phlegmatic temperament will be wealthy. He will have a charming complexion and good

built. He will have a voice similar to drums or roaring clouds. He will have reddish eyes. He may like sweet dishes and will be friendly to all. He will respect elders and will be fair in complexion.

Difference between Vayu & Vatha

Vayu is a Mahabhutha. Vatha is a Dosha. Panchamahabhutha is part of the constitution of the body but Dhosha creates an imbalance in the body. The literal translation of the word Vayu in English is wind. I have translated Vatha as wind Vayu as air to differentiate between Vayu and Vatha. You may find some people translating Vatha as gas or air. Therefore, be watchful of the context to make sure whether Mahabhutha or Dhosha is being referred.

Concept of Dhatu in Ayurveda & Astrology

In Ayurvedha, we have a concept of ‘Dhathu’. Dhathu is varieties of tissues in the human body. There are a total of seven Dhathu and they are given in the below table.

Sr. No. Dhathu Meaning
1 Rasa Plasma
2 Raktha Blood cells
3 Mavsa Muscle tissues
4 Medha Fatty tissues
5 Asthi Bones
6 Majja Bone marrows and nervous system
7 Shukra Reproductive tissues

Each tissue is formed from previous tissue. Therefore, when Rasa Dhathu is solidified by Agni it is transformed into Raktha Dhathu and so on.