Jaimini Astrology

What is Jaimini Astrology?

Jaimini Astrology is another major branch of Parashara astrology which was lost for 3000 years and was revived in the 20th century by the efforts of gurus like K.N. Rao and P.S. Sastri. Jaimini astrology. 

When looking at a horoscope and analysing the aspects of Parashara, only 80% of the results are encountered. Hence, it is recommended and advisable to use Jaimini aspects including chara dasha also in order to arrive at the results and confirm events in life. 

One important fact to remember is that planets really become active in Jaimini when their sign based dasha becomes active, but in any chara dasha they will give their results based on how far they are from the sign dasha.

Classification of Signs in Jaimini Astrology

In Jaimini astrology signs aspect other signs unlike parashara astrology where planets have aspects. In other words, planets do not have aspects in Jaimini astrology. 

Further, the signs have been classified under 3 heads : cardinal signs, fixed signs, and mutable or common signs.

Cardinal signs are Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricon.

Mutable sings are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces.

Fixed signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius.

Aspects of Signs in Jaimini Astrology

As discussed above, in Jaimini astrology, it is the signs that have aspects and not planets. The way that signs aspects other signs are :

1. Cardinal signs only aspect the fixed signs, other than the one sitting next to it. It can be seen as under :

  • Aries will aspect Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius but not Taurus because Aries and Taurus are right next to each other.
  • Similarly, Cancer will aspect only Taurus, Scorpio and Aquarius.
  • Libra will aspect only Taurus, Leo and Aquarius.
  • Capricorn will aspect only Taurus, Leo and Scorpio.

2. Fixed signs only aspect the cardinal signs, other than the one sitting next to it. It can be seen as under :

  • Taurus will only aspect Cancer, Libra and Capricon and not Aries because Aries and Taurus are right next to each other.
  • Similarly, Leo will aspect only Aries, Libra, and Capricorn.
  • Scorpio will aspect only Aries, Cancer, and Capricon.
  • Aquarius will aspect only Aries, Caner, and Libra.

3. Mutable signs only aspect each other as under:

  • Gemini will aspect only Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces.
  • Virgo will aspect only Gemini, Sagittarius, and Pisces.
  • Sagittarius will aspect only Gemini, Virgo, and Pisces.
  • Pisces will aspect only Gemini, Virgo, and Sagittarius.

Note : It is clear that in Jaimini Astrology, signs aspects each other. But if a planet is sitting in a certain sign, that planet, too, will aspect all the houses that the sign is looking towards. In such a method a planet will have multiple aspects, combining Prashara and Jaimini together. 

For instance: If Saturn has 3 aspects in Prashara then in Jaimini it may have additional 3. This is why in one single mahadasha, Saturn can put delay on many things but no matter what, there will always be some "Chara dasha" running simultaneously with Vimshotri dasha. If Mahadasha of Saturn is running while the chara dasha of the sign where Saturn is placed that's when Saturn will began to aspect all the other respective houses.